Don’t go near the edge

Such simple advice. One would think it shouldn’t be too difficult to follow.
image
Many years ago I traveled with my family to the Badlands of South Dakota. The rugged beauty of this unforgiving landscape took my breath away. Yet I was alarmed to realize how easily a person could slip over the edge of any number of buttes (not sure what a butte is?). I firmly instructed my teenage children to stay well away from the edge, while I locked my grip on the smallest child’s hand. As I stood looking across the flat tops of the steep formations stretching for miles, I suddenly heard, “How far away should I be?”

Over the past few months I have wrestled with issues that have dragged me to my knees. I have been a bloody mess, crying out to God and grasping for the nearest hand, literally reaching for a lifeline. No one who has not experienced the devastation of divorce can fully understand the reality of the image these words paint. Yet as God’s healing continues, the moments, even hours, of hope each day increase.

Out of the depths I cry to you, Lord; Lord, hear my voice. Let your ears be attentive to my cry for mercy. Psalm 130:1-2

The losses, changes and uncertainty have brought sorrow, despair and fear, taking me to depths of a darkness I haven’t known before. So I have recently been surprised when a fleeting thought passed through my mind and I didn’t plummet over the edge, free falling as I certainly would have just a few weeks ago. This realization is an amazing and uplifting thing. I am awestruck and humbled by God’s Presence in my life. He has shown me how much I have to learn about really letting go, laying my burdens at Jesus’ feet – and leaving them there!

How often we bring our troubles to God, yet continue to dwell on them. Whatever it may be, we toy with it and dissect it from every possible angle. But this shouldn’t be! My feeble attempts to control or manage a situation are wasted energy that is better spent seeking God’s face.

If you, Lord, kept a record of sins, Lord, who could stand? But with you there is forgiveness, so that we can, with reverence, serve you. Psalm 130:3-4

God in His grace and mercy brings healing as we draw near. I understand more fully now the need to pray without ceasing, and I do. Throughout the day even simply uttering the name Jesus brings peace. He is ever faithful and filled with compassion for the wounded and weary. We need only seek and be accepting of His unfailing love.

I wait for the Lord, my whole being waits, and in his word I put my hope. I wait for the Lord more than watchmen wait for the morning, more than watchmen wait for the morning. Psalm 130:5-6

How far away should you stand? It really depends on how steep the slope and how unstable the terrain. But what God has taught me is that when I bring to Him my burdens – even again and again – He will shelter me in His arms, protecting from the edge that so easily crumbles.

Read more devotionals on Psalm 130 at SheReadsTruth

10 thoughts on “Don’t go near the edge

  1. This is beautiful, Debbie! This part hit home with me today…
    “How often we bring our troubles to God, yet continue to dwell on them. Whatever it may be, we toy with it and dissect it from every possible angle. But this shouldn’t be! My feeble attempts to control or manage a situation are wasted energy that is better spent seeking God’s face.”
    How easy it is to say, “Here you go, Lord… I’m giving this to you”, but then to pick it right back up again myself. When you come right down to it, what I’m really saying (with my actions) is that I don’t trust Him to take care of the issues… that I don’t really believe He’s concerned with the things that concern me… that I think I can handle things better myself. Although I’d never say the words out loud, honestly, that’s what I’m telling Him.
    Thought provoking stuff… thank you!

  2. Debbie, have walked the walk you describe, in terms of divorce…. God has walked alongside me I would say, every step of the way, even if I did not know it then, He truly is a good and great God…..always…God bless you and your family…x

Leave a Reply

